Single Blog Page

"Mobile Soon" wins at the 16th Annual IMAs

Randy Steele is among The Year’s Most Exceptional Artists & Releases Honored at Lincoln Center in
The 16th Annual Independent Music Awards

Nik West, Reeve Carney, Esprit D’Air, Eh440, Karim Baggili, Sofía Rei, Anish Sood,
Air Traffic Controller, John McEuen, Rozina Pátkai, Jake La Botz, and The Bankesters
are among this year’s honorees

Chattanooga's] own Randy Steele received top honors in the Bluegrass Song at The 16th annual Independent Music Awards (The IMAs), the influential program for independent artists and releases. "Mobile Soon" from the also nominated album "Songs from the Suck" was honored alongside projects by Nik West, Reeve Carney, Esprit D’Air, Eh440, Karim Baggili, Sofía Rei, Anish Sood, Air Traffic Controller, John McEuen, Rozina Pátkai, Jake La Botz, and The Bankesters at the annual awards ceremony held at Lincoln Center’s David Rubenstein Atrium on Saturday, March 31st.

The winning projects were selected by esteemed artist and industry judging panels which included: Tom Waits and Kathleen Brennan, Slayer, Bakithi Kumalo, Michael W. Smith, Amy Lee (Evanescence), Sepultura, and Fiona Joy among many others; as well as press and talent buyers from the Americas, Europe and Pacific Rim. More than 54,000 online fan votes determined The IMA Vox Pop Winners in Song and Video categories.

A complete list of The 16th IMA Winners available at

Reeve Carney was among the night's biggest winners for his debut solo album Youth Is Wasted which earned 5 wins in the Adult Contemporary Album & Song, Acoustic Song and Rock/Hard Rock Song categories; Matthew Huff was the fan favorite in Alt. Country Song, Country Song and Social Action Song categories; Compass Records recording artists The Bankesters, won both the judge and fan votes for their Bluegrass cover of the White Stripes’ “Seven Nation Army.”

The 4-hour ceremony featured award presentations in 94 music and visual arts categories, and performances by 10 nominated acts which included: John McEuen, Reeve Carney, Berta Moreno, Wordsmith, Taylor Grey, Luz Pinos, Jackknife Stiletto, Cary Morin and Nik West. A cypher featuring Rap/Hip-Hop nominees Talya La Lia, Dom Gotti, Amiss O.mega, Marcaux and SplytSecond opened the evening’s ceremony.

“The IMAs celebrate the artists who dare to create something extraordinary... without major label support” said IMA Executive Director, Martin Folkman. “From traditional to avant garde and every music genre in between, The Independent Music Awards provides a platform for a diverse range of incredible self-released and indie label talent at every stage of their careers” Folkman said.

Artists from Austria, Australia, Argentina, Belgium, Bahrain, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Spain, Great Britain, Hungary, India, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Pakistan, Portugal, Russia and USA were among those honored at The 16th IMAs.


Now in its 17th year, the influential Independent Music Awards honor the year’s best music projects by self-released and indie label talent. And connects them to new performance, promotion and distribution opportunities. The program receives entries from 95 countries on 6 continents. Nominated projects are winnowed from thousands of submissions, and are determined by panels of influential artists, music industry executives and fans.

Past winners and nominees include ...And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead, Amy Lee, Band of Skulls, Ben Kweller, Bright Eyes, Camila Meza, Flying Lotus, Jackson Browne, Killer Mike, Lacuna Coil, Macy Gray, Melissa Ferrick, JD McPherson, Meghan Trainor, Passenger, Radio Radio, RuPaul, Speech, Valerie June and Yemi Alade.

Submissions for The 17th annual Independent Music Awards open in Spring 2018. Details available at

Comments (0)

Add Comment